Here are the essential places to visit in Lisbon, Portugal. The selection is made using the FavRiver scoring system which takes into account the most relevant metrics and expert reviews.
Last update : Nov 16, 2019
21Palace Of Ajuda
The Palace of Ajuda (Portuguese: Palácio da Ajuda, Portuguese pronunciation: [ɐˈʒudɐ]) is a neoclassical monument in the civil parish of Ajuda in the city of Lisbon, central Portugal. Built on the site of a temporary wooden building constructed to house the Royal family after the 1755 earthquake and tsunami, it was originally begun by architect Manuel Caetano de Sousa, who planned a late Baroque-Rococo building. Later, it was entrusted to José da Costa e Silva and Francisco Xavier Fabri, who planned a magnificent building in the modern neoclassical style.
Over time, the project underwent several periods when the construction was stopped or slowed down due to financial constraints or political conflicts. When the Royal Family had to flee to Brazil (in 1807), following the invasion of Portugal by French troops, the work proceeded very slowly with Fabri taking charge of the project, later followed by António Francisco Rosa. Lack of financial resources would also result in the scaling down of the project. The construction of the Ajuda Palace, which began in 1796 and lasted until the late 19th century, was a project plagued by various political, economic and artistic/architectural problems. It was invaded by Napoleon's troops in 1807, and discontinued by Liberal forces who imposed a constitutional monarchy that reduced the power of the royal family. Artistically, it was a convergence of the Baroque styles from Mafra, very connected to regal authority, with the birth of the Neoclassic style from Italy. Further interruptions occurred, due to a lack of funds, political sanctions or disconnection between the workers and the authorities responsible for the project. The project was modified several times, but was generally authored by Manuel Caetano de Sousa (the last Baroque architect) and, later, Costa e Silva and Fabri, both of them Bolognese architects whose tastes crossed the architectural spectrum, but in which Neoclassicism predominated.
When the palace finally became a permanent residence of the royal family during the reign of King Luis I and his wife, Maria Pia of Savoy, their architect, Possidónio da Silva, introduced many aesthetic changes and turned one of the lateral façades into the main one.
Palace of Ajuda - Essential Places To Visit In Lisbon, Portugal
22Parque Das Nações
Parque das Nações (Portuguese pronunciation: [ˈpaɾk(ɨ) dɐʒ nɐˈsõȷ̃ʃ]; English: Park of the Nations) is a Portuguese civil parish (freguesia) of the city of Lisbon. It was created in 2012 from parts of the parishes Santa Maria dos Olivais (Lisbon), Sacavém and Moscavide (both part of Loures municipality). The population in 2011 was 21,025, in an area of 5.44 km². As of 2018, an estimated 31,000 people live in the area, with 30,000 of them employed.
Taking advantage of its geographical position, Parque das Nações also has a brand new marina, Marina Parque das Nações featuring 600 berths and modern infrastructures, a river pier for cruises or historical vessels and an exclusive pontoon prepared to receive nautical and on land events, and a spot for bird watching as it is sited in the Tagus Estuary, one of the largest and most diverse estuaries of Europe.
At the time of the census carried out in 2011, an estimated 21,000 people currently live in the Parque das Nações, which was shared between the Lisbon and Loures municipalities until November 2012. Following a request by local citizens for the municipality of Lisbon to annex the one belonging to Loures, thereby integrating the entire area within the Lisbon municipality, the area is now inside Lisbon and it is the city's most northeastern parish.
Parque das Nações - Essential Places To Visit In Lisbon, Portugal
23Estrela Basilica
The Estrela Basilica (Portuguese: Basílica da Estrela) or the Royal Basilica and Convent of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus (Portuguese: Real Basílica e Convento do Santíssimo Coração de Jesus), is a minor basilica and ancient carmelite convent in Lisbon, Portugal.
Ordered built by Queen Maria I of Portugal as the fulfilment of a vow, the Basilica is not only a product of the Queen's particularly fervent devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus, but remains the most important architectual endeavour of her reign. The Estrela Basilica was the first church in the world dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus.
Estrela Basilica - Essential Places To Visit In Lisbon, Portugal
24Igreja De São Roque
The Igreja de São Roque (Church of Saint Roch) is a Roman Catholic church in Lisbon, Portugal. It was the earliest Jesuit church in the Portuguese world, and one of the first Jesuit churches anywhere. The edifice served as the Society’s home church in Portugal for over 200 years, before the Jesuits were expelled from that country. After the 1755 Lisbon earthquake, the church and its ancillary residence were given to the Lisbon Holy House of Mercy to replace their church and headquarters which had been destroyed. It remains a part of the Holy House of Mercy today, one of its many heritage buildings.
The Igreja de São Roque was one of the few buildings in Lisbon to survive the earthquake relatively unscathed. When built in the 16th century it was the first Jesuit church designed in the “auditorium-church” style specifically for preaching. It contains a number of chapels, most in the Baroque style of the early 17th century. The most notable chapel is the 18th-century Chapel of St. John the Baptist (Capela de São João Baptista), a project by Nicola Salvi and Luigi Vanvitelli constructed in Rome of many precious stones and disassembled, shipped, and reconstructed in São Roque; at the time it was reportedly the most expensive chapel in Europe.
Igreja de São Roque - Essential Places To Visit In Lisbon, Portugal
25National Museum Of Ancient Art
The Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga (Portuguese pronunciation: [muˈzew nɐsiuˈnaɫ dɨ ˈaɾtɐ̃ˈtiɡɐ]; MNAA), also known in English as the National Museum of Ancient Art, is the Portuguese national art museum, located in Lisbon. The MNAA has one of the largest art collections in the world, with over 40,000 items spanning a vast collection of painting, sculpture, goldware, furniture, textiles, ceramics, and prints. It is one of the most visited museums in Portugal.
The MNAA was founded in 1884 to display the collections of the Portuguese Royal Family and the National Academy of Fine Arts. It is housed in the Palácio Alvor-Pombal, a former residence of the 1st Marquis of Pombal which was expanded when it was converted into a museum. The museum's collection spans more than a millennium of art from Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas and includes notable masterpieces by Hieronymus Bosch, Hans Holbein the Elder, Francisco de Zurbarán, Albrecht Dürer, Domingos Sequeira, and Giambattista Tiepolo, among numerous others.
National Museum of Ancient Art - Essential Places To Visit In Lisbon, Portugal
Find us on :
FavRiver is the place to discover travel guides and expert top lists for the best in travel. The selection is made using the FavRiver scoring system which takes into account the most relevant metrics and expert reviews. FavRiver is an independent website and we do not receive any commission to be featured or when you click on links.